RSS

On route to the Capital (and also why I love trains)

10 Jun

Some of my fondest memories are of me travelling by train. The gentle rocking of the bogey, the myriad passengers (with each representing a different demographic), the food… I love it all. I will admit that this is not for everyone, but those who shun it outright are losing out an invaluable experience. Travelling in the air conditioned sections also tends to sterilise the entire experience.

IMG_20150608_132807540

I boarded the train on Sunday evening, to begin my journey of 2406 km spanning two nights and a day. My companions were a young bunch of friends who were travelling on partially confirmed tickets, a pair from Gulbarga and many others who crowded at our berths, their actual seats or tickets a mystery.

The next day, I took the time to walk around the train a few times to get a feel for the people in it. There were hard-line Hindus who were singing bajans all morning to twittering old kannadiga aunties who seemed a bit nervous. The highlight, of course, were views. From lush green fields to sparse sand dunes, we hurtled past them all.

IMG_20150608_084810746

IMG_20150608_182110922

IMG_20150609_061955438

For the last time, the train slowed down at Delhi and I jumped off to my next adventure.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment