RSS

It’s broasting time

11 Jun

Sometimes you just have make tough decisions even if they go against your better judgement, like saying “yes!” to a fourth helping or travelling to Delhi during one of the worst heat waves recorded. The fallacy of my decision was evident the minute I stepped off the train. I was hit by a stream of hot air that reduced me to a puddle. After grudgingly trudging along for fifteen minutes, I acclimatised to temperature just as I stepped into the air conditioned comfort of Adrija’s (my friend of nearly five years and hostess extrodinaire) place. It took half an hour of lying on the floor and two bottles of water to recuperate from the initial assault.

Fully confident in my ability to weather the weather, I joined my friend for a quick lunch and brainstorming session before I was left to my own devices. My first stop was Sam’s cafe in Paharganj. Finding the place was a bit of a challenge, but one worth the reward. Located on the rooftop, it affords great views of the narrow streets below, filled with tiny shops and backpacking foreigners trying to soak in ‘Indian culture’.

IMG_20150609_154532038

A warning to those new to Delhi thought, Paharganj has a fearsome reputation and you might want to avoid it in the evenings. I had a lemon tea (Rs.30) and a lemon soda to re-hydrate myself and then set off to my next hang out. Thugs shares the same building as Chor Bazaar and Broadway on Asaf Ali Road. All three of them come highly rated but Thugs was the chosen destination for the day. The paintings on the wall stood as an homage to all the Bollywood baddies of yore, adding to the ambiance of the place. The food was giant sized, the drink cheap and with classic Bollywood tubes being crooned over the speakers, it gave me all the comfort I needed to while away the time.

IMG_20150609_153251231_HDR

IMG_20150609_161728934

Having wasted just about enough time for Priyam (a friend with an unfortunate case of lost malyali identity) to get done with work, I headed off to meet her and with the help of serendipitous bus timings, we met and went out to dinner. Priyam had picked SodaBottleOpenerWala, a rather upscale Parsi food joint in Khan Market. We ordered the Parsi mutton masala and to drink we had a mint-plum drink (I forget what it is called). The mutton was tender and well spiced and the came in an old fashion twist cap glass milk bottle, it was incredibly refreshing. The tab was picked up by her, on the condition that the favour is repaid once I get a job. It was nice to catch up, as all old friends must.

IMG-20150609-WA0005

IMG-20150609-WA0007

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “It’s broasting time

  1. cupitonians

    June 11, 2015 at 11:29 am

    Feel the burn! Literally!

     

Leave a comment